WhatsApp , the most widely used instant messaging app around the world, offers its users various privacy options and also offers the possibility of managing the conversations we have with our contacts.
One of the ways in which we can do this is by silencing a chat so that we do not receive notifications of messages from a specific contact that we select.
Difference Between Block and Mute
When you block a contact from WhatsApp privacy settings, our profile picture and status updates are no longer visible to that person; His messages will not reach us and only a popcorn will appear.
Instead, when you mute someone , you only prevent notifications of messages from a specific contact for a certain time (8 hours, 1 week or up to 1 year).
But that person will still be able to see our statuses and profile picture and their messages appear to them with two gray checkmarks.
With the above information it is very easy to realize if someone has blocked us, but has it happened to you that one of your contacts receives your messages, but never reads them? Do you have suspicions that you have been silenced? You can find out in these ways.
How is it done?
If we are able to be close to the person we suspect has us blocked, we can try sending them a WhatsApp message and see if their phone notifies them of the message.
If you have your cell phone at hand, but it does not ring or vibrate after receiving the message, nor does a WhatsApp notification appear, this means that you have silenced us.
If we are not close to that person, we can ask a mutual friend to send him a message to see if he answers or not. We can even send a message almost at the same time to see if that other person answers and not us.
A solution in case you have been silenced
In this way, the other person will receive the message even though we are silenced. At first, it is necessary to coincide in a group with that person, then quote using the @ and the contact name with which you have saved it.
This will ensure that you receive the message through sound or vibration alarms, and that you read it with full awareness. Of course, this little trick is not valid for private conversations.
The last resort , but already very forced, would be to create a group with ourselves, the suspect and a third person that we will eliminate.
In this way, the suspect and we will be in the same group of two people, instead of the usual individual conversation. You can use the possibility of mention with @.
If he has seen your message, you can find out by clicking on the text and then on Info, which means that he has not been silenced.